Chemelot

Cooperation agreement between the Business Research Park Chemelot B.V. in Geleen (The Netherlands) and the International Technology- and Service-Center Baesweiler GmbH (Germany)

The relations between the Netherlands and Germany can be characterized, particularly within the economic sector, as very intensive ones. Experts found out that the economic relations worldwide merely between the United States and Canada are more intensive than those between Germany and the Netherlands. This becomes apparent in foreign trade, too. Foreign trade between Gemany and the Netherlands amounted in 2006 auf to a total of 134.2 billion € and exceeded approx. 24 billion € the previous year value. The exportations to Germany accounted for 78.8 billion €, the importations in contrast 55.4 billion €. The Dutch exportations to Germany makes up about a quarter of the total of Dutch exportations. The highest positions within this bilateral trade are industrial and agricultural products.

The harbor in Rotterdam, which is internationally presented quite often as “Germany’s largest harbor”, is for Germany of particular importance. By Rotterdam the Netherlands are the “gateway” to Germany (and to Europe) for the trade with Asia.

Germany still remains the most important business market for the Dutch economy. For Germany the Netherlands are, after France, the most important trade partner for foreign goods and services.

Nevertheless, even in the Euregio Meuse-Rhine a very large cross border cooperation and business potential lies fallow. To utilize this potential in a better way, particularly for the small and medium enterprises in the region, the City of Baesweiler and ITS Baesweiler intend a close cooperation with the Business and Research Park Chemelot B.V. and the DSM-Research-Campus in Geleen.

Aim of the cooperation is to encourage and support cross border cooperation. The emphasis lies here in entrepreneurial and research cooperation between the companies on site as well as cross border exchange of experience, in particular concerning innovative and technological questions. In a first step existing events (such as the “Baesweiler BioTec-Meeting” or the “chemcafe” in Geleen) should get a more and more obvious cross border and international orientation by means of the corresponding cooperation partner.

Chemelot

Kooperationsvereinbarung zwischen dem Business Research Park Chemelot B.V. in Geleen (NL) und der Internationales Technologie- und Service-Center Baesweiler GmbH (D)

Die Beziehungen zwischen den Niederlanden und Deutschland können, insbesondere im wirtschaftlichen Bereich, als äußerst intensiv bezeichnet werden. Weltweit – so sagen Experten – seien lediglich die wirtschaftlichen Verbindungen zwischen den USA und Kanada noch intensiver als diejenigen zwischen Deutschland und den Niederlanden. Dies findet auch seinen Niederschlag im Außenhandel. So belief sich der deutsch-niederländische Außenhandel im Jahre 2006 auf insgesamt 134,2 Mrd. € und lag damit um ca. 24 Mrd. € über dem Wert des Vorjahres. Die Ausfuhren nach Deutschland betrugen dabei 78,8 Mrd. €, die Einfuhren dagegen 55,4 Mrd. €. Die niederländischen Exporte nach Deutschland machen hierbei rd. ¼ der niederländischen Gesamtausfuhren aus. Die größten Positionen im Bilateralhandel sind dabei Industrieerzeugnisse und landwirtschaftliche Produkte.

Besondere Bedeutung für Deutschland hat der Rotterdamer Hafen, der sich nicht ungern international als »größter deutscher Hafen« vermarktet. Durch Rotterdam sind die Niederlande das »Tor« Deutschlands (und Europas) für den Handelsverkehr mit Asien. 

Deutschland bleibt weiterhin der wichtigste Absatzmarkt für die niederländische Wirtschaft. Für Deutschland sind die Niederlande nach Frankreich das wichtigste Bezugsland ausländischer Waren und Dienstleistungen.

Dennoch liegt gerade in der Euregio Maas-Rhein ein sehr großes grenzüberschreitendes Kooperations- und Geschäftspotential brach. Um dieses Potential insbesondere für die ansässigen kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen in der Grenzregion besser nutzbar zu machen, beabsichtigen die Stadt Baesweiler und das its eine engere Zusammenarbeit mit dem Business and Research Park Chemelot B.V. und dem DSM-Research-Campus in Geleen.

Ziel der Zusammenarbeit ist es, grenzüberschreitende Kooperationen anzuregen und zu unterstützen. Hierbei stehen Unternehmens- und Forschungskooperationen zwischen den ansässigen Firmen sowie der grenzüberschreitende Erfahrungsaustausch, insbesondere bei innovativen und technologischen Fragestellungen im Vordergrund.

So sollen in einem ersten Schritt bestehende Veranstaltungen (wie beispielsweise das »Baesweiler BioTec-Meeting« oder das »chemcafe« in Geleen mit Hilfe des jeweiligen Kooperationspartners eine deutlich grenzüberschreitendere und internationalere Ausrichtung erhalten.